Updates!

If you’re wondering why I haven’t been posting much lately, it’s because I work full-time at the Chicago International Film Festival and have been enjoying my privileges by seeing all sorts of great films from all over the world after my shifts (nine so far this week!).  I’ll be posting a roundup featuring mini-reviews of all the films I watched at the festival once it’s over, so keep an eye out for that.

Meanwhile I’ve had time to see just one film in theatrical release, that being It’s Kind of a Funny Story. I thoroughly enjoyed the film and thought the performance from Zach Galifianakis was truly remarkable.  He delivers plenty of hilarious Hangover-esque goofy moments, as well a lot of heart-wrenchingly tender moments of vulnerability.  I’d give him a nomination in the “best supporting actor” category without a second thought.  I’ve always said that (500) Days of Summer was our generation’s Annie Hall, and this movie might be our Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  It’s a wonderful concoction of comedy, drama and indie music, with impromptu moments of animation and musical sing-along.  I even surprisingly enjoyed the adorable Emma Roberts as the wrist-cutting love interest of the lead (Kier Gilchrist, who’s pretty cool in a young Keanu Reeves kind of way).  I’d give it an 8/10 if you’re into that whole numerical rating system thing.  It’s easily my favorite comedy of the year so far.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for a good coming-of-age story.

Don’t mistake this for a real review.  I simply don’t have the time.

Leave a Reply

