Stuff I’ve Been Watching Lately

I haven’t done a “quick thoughts” post in a while, so here’s a massive post to keep you up to date on the stuff I’ve been watching at home lately.  Sorry, no pictures.

The Square (Nash Edgerton, 2008):  This is a solid neo-noir from Australia.  If you are a fan of the genre like I am, you basically know what to expect and certainly won’t be disappointed.  Be sure to watch the shocking short film Spider, which played before the movie in theaters and appears on the DVD as a special feature.  For fans of Blood Simple, Match Point, Bound, etc.  Rating: 8/10

Tell No One (Guillaume Canet, 2006):  I finally got around to seeing this French mystery/thriller after hearing word that it is set for a Hollywood remake with Andrew Dominik (The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford) doing the American adaptation.  Good film, and I’m already calling Brad Pitt for the lead role in the remake.  For fans of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. 8/10

Laura (Otto Preminger, 1944):  Like I said, I love film noir.  This is one of the all-time greats from the genre’s heyday, and it certainly didn’t disappoint me one bit.  It kept me guessing until the very end and is well worth seeking out if you don’t mind the talkiness of old movies.  For fans of Double Indemnity, Touch of Evil, etc. 9/10

Serendipity (Peter Chelsom, 2001):  This is a charming, if predictable, romantic comedy starring one of my favorite actors (John Cusack) and a total babe (Kate Beckinsale).  I also liked Jeremy Piven in his role… he’s far more tolerable in small doses.  For fans of Sleepless in Seattle, Only You, etc. 6/10

Lenny (Bob Fosse, 1974): I checked this movie out after finally watching Fosse’s All That Jazz (visit Pompous Film Snob if you want to know anything about that film) and realizing I’ve seen almost all of the performances from the peak of Dustin Hoffman’s career.  He’s typically good here, but it took me almost halfway through the film before I started to get into it.  Once I finally did, I really liked it and the ending is truly remarkable.  For those not in the know, this is a rather detached and fragmented biopic of a groundbreaking stand-up comic.  A must-see for Fosse and Hoffman fans alike.  Rating: 7/10

McCade and Mrs. Miller (Robert Altman, 1971): I think Altman’s style of naturalistic dialogue worked much better for me in M*A*S*H than in this revisionist western, but there is still plenty to love here.  Great work from Warren Beatty and Julie Christie, as well a some great cinematography of the snowy and rustic atmospheres.  For fans of Days of Heaven.  Also, if you like the “Deadwood” TV series, you have to see this. 8/10

Three Days of the Condor (Sidney Pollack, 1975): This was far from my favorite Robert Redford performance, but he was still about a hundred times cooler than any of today’s leading men could dream to be.  Faye Dunaway was worthless in her surprisingly light role, but Max von Sydow is downright terrifying as the menacing assassin.  It’s a solid political paranoia flick, but just doesn’t compare to the likes of All The President’s Men. 7/10

Amores Perros (Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, 2000): This film tells three very different heartbreaking stories that all intersect (literally) in a rather shocking way.  I would have liked it more had the stories not gotten progressively less interesting as the film progressed.  The first third was easily my favorite, and the final third never managed to fully capture my interest.  It feels like the depressing version of a Tarantino movie… only more Mexican. 8/10

Someone Like You… (Tony Goldwyn, 2001): This romantic comedy is about as stock as they come, but Ashley Judd and Greg Kinnear are far more watchable than the lot of actors working in the genre these days.  I’m looking at you, Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler.  Hugh Jackman has some pretty funny lines in this one as well.  5/10

Wait Until Dark (Terence Young, 1967): This is actually the first Audrey Hepburn movie I’ve ever seen.  I know it’s lame, but it’s the truth.  This is a painfully suspenseful movie that felt a lot like a Hitchcock film except for the fact that Hepburn is a brunette.  A convincingly creepy young Alan Arkin plays the villain.  Worth checking out if you like Rope, Rear Window, etc. 7/10

City Island (Raymond De Felitta, 2009):  Featuring Andy Garcia’s best role in a long time, this is a dark comedy that is actually pretty funny.  I’m having a hard time coming up with a movie to compare this to.  I guess that’s a good thing.  Check it out anyway. 7/10

I think that’s enough for now.  Let me know if you like this type of format or if you simply don’t care about what I’ve been watching from my couch.

Comments
2 Responses to “Stuff I’ve Been Watching Lately”
  1. Castor says:

    Loved Tell No One myself. As always, I would question of wisdom of remaking a perfectly good movie but anyways, Brad Pitt sounds like a good choice although he doesn’t really strike me as a pediatrician lol

    The other movie I saw in this list is Serendipity. As you said, charming enough albeit completely predictable.

    • Yeah, I don’t support remakes either but this one looks like it’s happening. The main reason I said Pitt for the remake was because he already has a relationship with Dominik from working on “Jesse James” and it seems like the type of challenging role he would like to take.

      Otherwise, it sounds like you need to beef up your Netflix queue 🙂

Leave a Reply

