Review: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World

I’m not going to bother writing a full review for this one, seeing as how it is a financial disappointment and it’s being pushed out of movie theaters even quicker than the bed bugs are invading them.  Surely all interested parties have already seen it.  If not, you might have to resort to renting out a biohazard suit and visiting one of those scuzzy “value” theaters.  Better yet, just wait for the DVD.  Here’s a few quick thoughts on it without diving too deep into the world of Scott Pilgrim:

The plot is ridiculously simple and needs little explaining.  Mr. Pilgrim (Michael Cera) must defeat the seven evil exes of Ramona Flowers (Mary Elizabeth Winstead) if he hopes to continue dating her.  We’re not talking Inception here, people.  I think that’s part of the problem I had with the movie.  Most of the funniest and most interesting things happened before the battles begin, and I grew tired of the fight scenes rather quickly.  Maybe if we were talking about three or four evil exes I would have had a better time.

Yes, I know Michael Cera acts exactly the same in every movie.  Who else are they supposed to cast in this role?  Jesse Eisenberg is busy taking more interesting roles in far better movies, so we’re left with Cera.  Oh well.  Cera is fine and isn’t really the issue here.  I look at him as a tour guide through this crazy world as we meet a bunch of cooler and more memorable characters, the best of which are Chris Evans as a famous skateboarder turned A-list actor and Brandon Routh as a vegan-powered indie rock bassist.  Coincidentally, we get to see Cera lay waste to both Captain America (Evans) and Superman (Routh).  That’s pretty cool, right?

Most of the music in the movie is pretty cool.  Cera plays in a rock band called the Sex Bob-Ombs, the music of which was composed by Beck.  A lot of the visuals are pretty imaginative (my favorite was the piss-meter), so kudos on that.  I still dont think the movie is as much of an innovation as people are giving it credit for and I thought recent movies like Kick-Ass, Zombieland and (500) Days of Summer did a far more admirable job of blending style and substance. There’s just not much left once the coolness of the gimmicks and effects begins to wear off.

Then again, this is all coming from a person who hasn’t owned a video game since Playstation (yes, the first one) so that might explain why I experienced so much sensory overdrive throughout the course of the movie.  It was simply too much for far too long (especially that final battle with Jason Schwartzman), but they get bonus points for trying and for putting together such a great cast of young actors.  I really like this Johnny Simmons guy.  He’s going to be a star.

Rating: 6/10

Apologies for the half-assed review.  I promise I’ll do better next time.

Comments
5 Responses to “Review: Scott Pilgrim vs. The World”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    mmmm johnny simmons.

  2. mattvolke says:

    One of my reviewers just did this one at http://www.themoviebros.com

    Keep up the good work!

  3. Simon/Ripley says:

    This was made for cult status, if that’s any comfort.

  4. Marc says:

    I disagree, I thought this movie was right up my alley and worked pretty damn well…though the Schwartzman fight at the end might have pushed my patience. It was quirky, funny as hell and off the wall humor that only someone like Edgar Wright could make work. Aside from Inception its the best movie of the year…guess that shows how wildly different my tastes are:)
    Routh and Culkin stole the show and I think I have to give points to Cera who took a role that might start to get him away from those awkwardly funny roles (though in reality that’ll probably never happen).

Leave a Reply

