A Recommendation – Mesrine: Killer Instinct

Tonight I attended an early screening of Mesrine: Killer Instinct, the first half of the two-part French gangster saga starring Vincent Cassel.  Although the film is being released in two parts, I’m going to look at them as if they are just one massive epic so I’m not going to post my full review until I see the second part.

Let me just say this, if you are lucky enough to have a theater playing this in your area you would be a fool not to go see it.  Vincent Cassel is the fucking man, and this is the absolute best movie I’ve seen all year and probably the best gangster movie since The Godfather: Part II. Yes, it’s better than Scarface, Goodfellas and whatever other Scorsese movie might be your favorite.

The first part is out tomorrow, with the second part (Public Enemy No. 1) following next week (Sept. 3).  I honestly don’t know how I’m going to wait an entire week to see the conclusion.

Please, do yourselves a favor and go see this.  Do it for yourself, do it for Mr. Cassel, and do it for the better good of the film industry.  How is it that dreck like Vampires Suck can open in over 3,000 theaters yet a masterpiece like this can only get a handful of screens… nearly two full years after its world premier mind you?

Discuss.

Leave a Reply

