New on DVD: Repo Men and Clash of the Titans

A couple of mediocre actioners hit the shelves this week.  One looks to the future, the other remembers the past.

Repo Men: Unrated (Miguel Sapochnik)

With Jude Law, Forest Whitaker, Alice Braga and Liev Schreiber.

This is a hard movie for me to rate.  On one hand, this is a movie I found myself getting really into it, but on the other is an absolutely awful ending that made me regret getting so involved in the movie and feel like I had wasted my time.  Aside from the ending, the movie is a really enjoyable ride with a fairly inconsistent tone.  A lot of the more enjoyable scenes were handled in a campy manner, while there were some other scenes that might have suggested the movie thought it was bigger than it really was.  Liev Schreiber, hamming it up in full-on sleaze mode, definitely had the right idea.  He’s pretty awesome here, and gets to say such ridiculous things as “give me your fuckin’ heart!”  The movie warrants a viewing for his role alone.  I’ve also been on a bit of an Alice Braga kick lately (see my reviews of Blindness and Predators) and she’s good in this as well.

Rating: 6/10

RIYL: Blade Runner, Minority Report, Equilibrium.

Clash of the Titans (Louis Letterier, 2010)

With Sam Worthington, Ralph Fiennes, Liam Neeson, Gemma Arterton and Jason Flemyng.

This is a pretty standard swords and sandals epic that isn’t nearly as epic as it thinks it is.  Back in my day, a movie needed to be over 3 hours to even be eligible for the label of “epic” but I guess today’s movies just don’t live by those same standards.  The CGI is pretty cheesy at times and the ending is really quite anticlimactic, but I guess the one positive thing I can say about the movie is that as short as it is (roughly 100 minutes) it feels even shorter than that.  That’s got to be a positive, right?  Anyway, I think I need to revisit Terminator Salvation because I remember seeing that in theaters and thinking “this Sam Worthington dude is the fucking man,” but I’ve thought he was pretty lame in everything since then.

Rating: 5/10

RIYL: 10,000 B.C., The Scorpion King, Reign of Fire.

Comments
2 Responses to “New on DVD: Repo Men and Clash of the Titans”
  1. Kaitylyn says:

    hahaha. give me your fucking heart was definitely the line of that movie

    and stop hating on the ending..

  2. I actually really liked “Clash”. I have complaints with it, but for being a summer blockbuster (that you know I’m not fond of) I actually really liked the film, I probably would have liked it more if I didn’t see it in 3D. Go Liam Neeson.

Leave a Reply

