7/20 DVD Rundown

I pay no attention to politics and know little about American history, yet I found this to be an especially fascinating documentary.  It received a well-deserved Oscar nomination in the documentary feature category, where it lost to the even more stellar The Cove (see it if you haven’t). Playing more like a heist thriller than some typical History Channel fodder, Dangerous is narrated by Daniel Ellsberg who walks us through the steps he took to leak the Pentagon Papers in an effort to expose the government’s cover-up of the Vietnam War.  I’ve got a full review of this one if you need further convincing.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: Hearts and Minds, JFK, Frost/Nixon.

The Losers (Sylvain White, 2010)

With Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Chris Evans, Zoe Saldana, Idris Elba and Jason Patric.

As I said in my theatrical review, “The Losers is not a great movie, but it is an extremely entertaining one.”  You could do a whole lot worse for 90 minute diversion, at least until the similar-but-superior The A-Team hits the shelves.

Rating: 6/10

RIYL: SWAT, Shoot ‘Em Up, Smokin’ Aces.

The Runaways (Floria Sigismondi, 2010)

With Kristen Stewart, Dakota Fanning and Michael Shannon.

Anticipation was high for this one, but it left me feeling pretty empty.  Maybe I’ve just seen too many rock biopics, but it all felt pretty standard.  Without anything resembling a climax, it just felt like there wasn’t enough of a story there to warrant a feature-length film.  Still, I felt Stewart did a nice job of capturing the essence of Joan Jett and Shannon was outstanding as the group’s zany record producer.  It might be worth watching, if just for those two performances alone.  Fanning still didn’t do much for me.

Rating: 5/10

RIYL: Control, Sid and Nancy,

Cop Out (Kevin Smith, 2010)

With Bruce Willis, Tracy Morgan and Sean William Scott.

This movie looks abysmal, and my friends have told me it’s even worse than that.  I’ll pass.

Comments
2 Responses to “7/20 DVD Rundown”
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Cop Out, is crap. Don’t even worry about my friend.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

