7/13 DVD Rundown

Plenty of choices this week, but the best options are the ones you likely haven’t heard much about…

The Greatest (Shauna Feste, 2009)

With Pierce Brosnan, Carey Mulligan, Susan Sarandon, Aaron Johnson, Johnny Simmons and Michael Shannon.

This movie got the ol’ Montreal Screwjob back in April when its distributer dumped it into 19 measly theaters, but now you’ve got a chance to do the right thing and give this little picture a shot.  Trust me, it’s worth it.  The strong work from its outstanding cast really separates this movie from the melodramatic tearjerking pack.  I thought Pierce Brosnan’s career would slowly die after his turn as Bond, but this film makes three exceptional performances JUST THIS YEAR.  Count ’em with me… The Ghost Writer, Remember Me and now, The Greatest. Good work, class… and kudos Pierce, you’ve shocked me in the best possible way.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: Remember Me, Life as a House.

Greenberg (Noah Baumbach, 2010)

With Ben Stiller, Greta Gerwig, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Rhys Ifans.

Everyone who knows me knows I love Baumbach and his style of filmmaking.  It just feels so organic and real.  This isn’t his best effort but I still liked it, especially the performances of Gerwig and Ifans.  That, and I see a lot of myself in the title character.  I just read a little trivia that said that Mark Ruffalo was originally cast in the role that eventually went to Stiller.  I think I would have liked that more.  Mark Ruffalo f’ing rules.  Anyway, read my full review of Greenberg if you think you might be interested.  Or not.  Either way.

OT: The trailer for this movie has made me addicted to LCD Soundsystem.  Listen to them if you don’t already.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Manhattan, The Squid and the Whale, Garden State.

Chloe (Atom Egoyan, 2010)

With Julianne Moore, Liam Neeson and Amanda Seyfried.

Chloe is a seductive thriller that is neither as sexy nor as thrilling as I wanted it to be.  The director seemed to want this film to be classy and stylish, but it all came across as an awkward balance between class and trash.  It could have been fun if he just accepted the material for what it was and went full-on sleaze, a la Showgirls or something.  I realize I basically just said I prefer sleaze over class… trust me, that only applies to my taste in erotic thrillers.  Either way, Moore is excellent in this movie… plus there are lots of boobies.  See, told you I was classy 🙂

Rating: 6/10

RIYL: Unfaithful… and I would guess something like Original Sin or Fatal Attraction even though I haven’t seen either of those.

Of all the movies I’ve seen in 2010 so far, and you can tell that’s a lot by looking at my sidebar, The Bounty Hunter is the absolute worst.  I have a review of this one, but please just trust me and believe that this movie is terrible.  That’s right, I’m a blogger who is telling you NOT to read my review.

I love you Jen… please, for the sake of our relationship, never make a movie like this again.

P.S.  You can do much better in a co-star than Gerard Butler.  That guy sucks.  Perhaps you should hook back up with that Ruffalo guy… I’ve heard he’s pretty cool.  *Wink Wink*

Our Family Wedding:  Haven’t seen it.  Hopefully never will.


Comments
One Response to “7/13 DVD Rundown”
  1. Castor says:

    I will probably see The Bounty Hunter someday just because I know that it is horrendous. Nothing that really jumps at me this week though. Maybe, I will give Chloe a shot.

Leave a Reply

