Foreign Flicks: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (Niels Arden Oplev, 2009)

With Noomi Rapace and Michael Nyqvist.

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is the first in the series of film adaptations based on the massively popular “Millenium Trilogy” of novels by Stieg Larsson, which unfortunately I have not yet read.  Judging the film based solely on its own merits, I have to say that this is the most suspenseful murder mystery since Zodiac.  The film follows a punk/anti-social/bisexual computer hacker and an investigative journalist as they attempt to solve a 40-year-old unsolved murder with Nazi implications.  Noomi Rapace is extraordinary as Lisbeth Salander, a character that is destined to become a worldwide icon of ass-kickery.  She’s the kind of woman that could make men shamefully hold their nuts and quiver in fear.  I was glued for every single moment of the film.  As much as I love David Fincher, I don’t see how his upcoming Hollywood remake can top this.

Rating: 9/10

RIYL: Zodiac, Se7en, Frailty.

For those of you who have seen this, I’d like to hear who you think should play the characters in the remake.  Here’s who I’ve got:

  • Allison Lohman as Lisbeth  (I love Carey Mulligan but I don’t think she’s right for it)
  • Daniel Craig as Michael
  • Hal Holbrook as Henrik
  • Chris Cooper as The Lawyer Nils Bjurman
  • Brendan Gleeson as Martin
Comments
3 Responses to “Foreign Flicks: The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”
  1. Castor says:

    I have heard so much for this movie and I’m looking forward to get my hands on the DVD soon. It’s at the top of my Netflix queue but it says “short wait” 😦

  2. Simon/Ripley says:

    Lisbeth kicks so much ass. I do like Lohman for it, though.

Leave a Reply

