6/22 DVD Rundown

I haven’t been to the theater since seeing The A-Team almost two weeks ago.  I’m starting to go through withdrawals, and I can’t wait to get my beak wet with a little Knight and Day this weekend.  Anyway, here are the week’s new DVD releases, which feature two of the year’s more pleasant surprises.  Keep in mind that I’ve got them ranked in hierarchical order of importance.

She’s Out of My League (Jim Field Smith, 2010)

With Jay Baruchel, Alice Eve, T.J. Miller and Mike Vogel.

This movie is generic, predictable and basically feels like the Sam’s Choice version of a Judd Apatow film.  As Chandler Bing might say, could there BE a more blatant Seth Rogen rip-off than the brother of Baruchel’s character?  All that said, She’s Out of My League is much more enjoyable than it deserves to be.  It is genuinely funny and has a real sense of heart.  For all the awful romantic comedies released this year, this is one that is actually worth seeing.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Knocked Up, The Girl Next Door, Saving Silverman.

Remember Me (Allen Coulter, 2010)

With Robert Pattinson, Emile de Ravin, Chris Cooper, Lena Olin and Pierce Brosnan.

This movie is one of the biggest surprises of the year for me.  It was packaged to look like the next Nicholas Sparks adaptation, but it was not that at all.  It got a lot of attention for its controversial ending (I won’t give it away for those of you not yet “in the know” so to speak), but it deserves it for much more than that.  It isn’t without its flaws, but Remember Me is an engaging story that really spoke to me and is terrifically acted across the board.  That includes Pattinson, who in this film showed me a lot of potential that you wouldn’t know he had if you only watched him in the Twilight movies.  Read my full review if you need any further convincing.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Crazy/Beautiful, Titanic, A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints.

I haven’t yet seen Green Zone and I’m not sure if I’m willing to subject myself to another movie filled director Paul Greengrass’s seizure inducing use of the shaky-cam, flash panning, and rapidly edited action sequences.  Matt Damon is a great actor, but I prefer him in more oddball roles like his turn in The Informant!.

The Last Station garnered Oscar nominations for Helen Mirren and Christopher Plummer.  I love those two performers and the rest of the cast (Paul Giamatti, James McAvoy), but this movie looks like an absolute nightmare.  I’ll never watch it, but kudos to Plummer for finally getting an Oscar nom.  It’s a shame he didn’t get it for a more memorable role/movie, like The Insider or even The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnnassus (released last year as well).

Comments
5 Responses to “6/22 DVD Rundown”
  1. Kaitylyn says:

    love the Ms. Chanadandler Bong reference =]

    I seriously can not believe Plummer hadn’t been nominated before..that feels like a crime against movies..

    p.s. Alice Eve looks incredibly hot on that DVD cover…

  2. Simon/Ripley says:

    Is Alice Eve the Irish Nanny from Sex and the City 2 that everyone keeps complaining about? I can’t be bothered to look it up.

Leave a Reply

