6/15 DVD Rundown

The Book of Eli (Albert Hughes and Allen Hughes, 2010)

With Denzel Washington, Gary Oldman and Mila Kunis.

I’m not even a big Denzel fan and I thought this was one of the better films of the first half of the year.  It’s essentially a western/post-apocalyptic hybrid, but its an unexpectedly thought-provoking action film with a really slick look.  Read my full review if you need further convincing, but I think everyone should see this one.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: I Am Legend, Escape From New York, Children of Men.

Unthinkable (Gregor Jordan, 2010)

With Samuel L. Jackson, Carrie-Ann Moss and Michael Sheen

Don’t dismiss Unthinkable just because it is a direct-to-DVD movie you haven’t likely heard of.  This movie offers an intense story and great acting abound, especially if you love an unhinged Sam Jackson as much as I do.  Sometimes financial circumstances get in the way of a movie reaching a wider audience.  That was certainly the case with this one, and you can read all about that and more if you read my recently posted DVD review.  Make sure you watch the “extended version” of the movie if/when you rent it.  That version has a much more complete and ultimately fulfilling ending.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Rendition, The Kingdom.

Youth in Revolt (Miguel Arteta, 2010)

With Michael Cera, Zach Galifianakis, Justin Long, Ray Liotta, Steve Buscemi and Fred Willard.

Youth in Revolt is an utterly laughless comedy that attempts to combine indie sensibilites with the crude antics of more mainstream comedies like Road Trip and the Harold and Kumar movies.  It all comes across as very Wes Anderson-lite, which is disappointing because the cast is strong and the director’s previous feature is the highly underappreciated The Good Girl.  I suppose it isn’t an awful movie since I was never bored or uninterested, but I just prefer laughing over not laughing when I watch comedies.  I’m not being unreasonable, am I?

Rating: 5/10

When in Rome (Mark Steven Johnson)

With Kristen Bell, Josh Duhamel, Anjelica Huston and Danny DeVito.

When in Rome is a painfully generic romantic comedy that goes to show that two likable stars can’t overcome a terrible script.  If you are a seeking a career in screenwriting, I’m not sure if you should look at this movie as inspiration or if you should be concerned that talent or ambition is apparently not a prerequisite.  You know a script is bad when Danny DeVito even struggles to elicit any sort of comedic reaction out of it.  I’ve got a review for this one as well.

Rating: 5/10

Comments
3 Responses to “6/15 DVD Rundown”
  1. Castor says:

    Looking forward to get my hands on The Book of Eli which I wanted to see but ended up skipping. Is Kristen Bell taking a page off Katherine Heigl’s book and trying to sink her career as fast as possible?

  2. Might watch Book of Eli at some point to check out Gary Oldman in it.

Leave a Reply

