6/8 DVD Rundown

Yeah, I realize I’m almost a day late on this.  I got a life, too, you know.

Shutter Island (Martin Scorsese, 2010)

With Leonardo DiCaprio, Mark Ruffalo, Ben Kingsley and a crap load of other great actors.

2010 has been a pretty disappointing year for movies thus far, but this one managed to meet my lofty expectations.  I’ve got a theatrical review of it on this site, as well as my interpretation of the ending which I felt compelled to post after much discussion with my filmgoing friends.  In short, I think it’s one of the few great films of the year.  I know there are many who disagree with me on that.  Regardless of your opinion on the film, I think it is one that needs to be seen AT LEAST twice.  Watching it a second time offers a completely new experience, since you aren’t waiting for the “big twist.”  You get to look for all the little hints that you didn’t pick up the first time around.

Rating: 9/10

From Paris With Love (Pierre Morel, 2010)

With John Travolta and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers.

We move from a film that has stayed with me for months to one that is almost instantly forgettable.  I watched From Paris With Love over the weekend and I’ve already forgotten the plot of the movie.  It has something to do with Travolta kicking a lot of ass and dropping a lot of f-bombs, which is reason enough to watch the movie if you’re into that sort of thing.  It’s quite generic, featuring plenty of flashy camerawork from the director of Taken, but it’s a pretty fun 90-minute diversion.

Rating: 6/10

I should have a review for Splice up either tonight or tomorrow, so stay tuned.

Comments
One Response to “6/8 DVD Rundown”
  1. Castor says:

    I definitely want to see Shutter Island a second time although it feels like I just it in theater a few weeks ago (ok 4 months ago…) As for From Paris with Love, looks like a completely generic John Travolta vehicle which I’m not really into.

Leave a Reply

