Parting shots (for a few days)

I’m going to be roughing it in a cabin without internet for the next few days so I figured I would summarize my thoughts from my usual weekly posts here to hold you over until I get back on Wednesday.

This week’s theatrical releases:

Prince of Persia: Sands of Time has a title that is far too long and looks awful, even despite the presence of Jakey G. and his hot bod.  I doubt I’ll ever watch it.  My ass itches from just looking at all that sand.

Sex and the City 2 kept the title short.  That shows confidence.  I’m sure the movie is abysmal and completely free of anything resembling art, but I enjoyed the first one and I’m sure I would enjoy this one just the same.  Sometimes you have to have a little fun with ridiculous movies like these.  I’ll probably check it out on DVD.

I’m really pumped for a couple movies coming out next weekend.  Splice looks like one hell of an intense and absurd sci-fi thriller, and if Get Him to the Greek is half as funny as Forgetting Sarah Marshall it’ll be one of the funniest movies of the year.  My dream scenario is that they are both playing in a double bill at the drive-in next weekend.  I doubt it will happen, but I’ll find out in a few days.

DVD releases for 6/1:

There are really only two offerings to worry about this week, and  I suggest you rent The Wolfman.  It was a fun movie, but poorly directed by someone (Joe Johnston) who seemed to be confused about what kind of film he wanted to make.  It had the look of a classy medieval gothic horror, some over-the-top gory moments that were reminiscent of a b-movie and a very cheesy battle werewolf battle that looked like a hairier version of Transformers.  I’d give it about a 6/10.  There’s a review of it on this site, so look for that.

The other option is Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland.  I hate Tim Burton and I hate Johnny Depp.  With any luck, I’ll never see this movie.  It looks like a nightmare.  Yes, I know that’s kind of the idea.

Have a great few days, and happy viewings!

Comments
3 Responses to “Parting shots (for a few days)”
  1. Castor says:

    Enjoy the few days off! I also share your excitement for Splice. This Memorial Day weekend however is horrendous!

  2. Kaitylyn says:

    i want emily blunt… so badly

  3. Olive says:

    Thought Wolfman was pretty entertaining. Prince of Persia isn’t half bad, sure it has shocking acting, but it’s entertaining.
    I will probably give in and check out SATC on screen. I thought the first one was kinda disappointing, but maybe the second will fare a little better.

Leave a Reply

