DVD Rundown: 5/25/2010

There’s only two “new” movies this week, but there’s plenty of great stuff to choose from.

Worth a purchase:

True Blood: Season 2

With Anna Paquin, Stephen Moyer, Alexander Skarsgard and Michelle Forbes.

I don’t watch much TV.  I don’t have HBO, either, but I love this show.  I went through the first season in about a day and a half and I’m sure I’ll do about the same thing with this one.  From what I’ve heard, this season amps up the violence and tones down the comedy and drama a bit.  It’s also got a guest appearance from Evan Rachel Wood, who I absolutely adore.  This is a definite first-day purchase for me.  If you loved the first season as much as me, I’m assuming it is for you as well.

Worth a rental:

The Road (John Hillcoat, 2009)

With Viggo Mortensen, Robert Duvall, Guy Pearce and Charlize Theron.

I loved the book, and this movie is very faithful to it.  The movie has an amazing look and Hillcoat did a brilliant job of capturing the feel of the novel.  I’m still stunned that it got completely ignored over the awards season.  That said, it’s bleak subject matter makes it quite the downer and I can’t see anyone returning to this one enough times to warrant a purchase.

Rating: 9/10

RIYL: The Book of Eli, I Am Legend, Children of Men.

Stagecoach (John Ford, 1939)

With John Wayne.

This classic western is finally getting a Criterion Collection release on DVD and Blu-Ray.  It’s a fine movie with one of the most exciting chase scenes ever captured on film.  If you are a collector of Criterions or classic movies, this might be worth a look.  Otherwise, just rent the movie if you haven’t seen it yet.  What I don’t quite understand is why you would ever need to watch a movie like Stagecoach on Blu-Ray.  I wonder the same thing when people rent Paranormal Activity on Blu-Ray.  Wasn’t that thing filmed with a camera phone or some shit?  Please, anyone… enlighten me.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: High Noon, 3:10 to Yuma… you get the idea.

Dear John (Lasse Hallstron, 2010)

With Channing Tatum, Amanda Seyfried and Richard Jenkins.

I was very pleasantly surprised when I watched this over the weekend.  Sure, it’s sappy romantic garbage, but it’s well-made and features two strong performances from Seyfried and Jenkins.  I also enjoyed the way certain things were left unsaid when they weren’t absolutely imperative to the story.  On the downside, I thought the ending felt very forced and tacked on when they already had a strong ending to begin with.  Two good endings don’t make a great one.

Side note:  Does anyone else realize that Channing Tatum is now 30 years old and he’s still playing the sensitive jock with the rough exterior?  It’s about time for him to find a new character, don’t you think?

Rating: 6/10

RIYL: The Notebook, Brothers

Comments
6 Responses to “DVD Rundown: 5/25/2010”
  1. I AM buying The Road, and I am so against Blu-Ray.

  2. Castor says:

    Looking forward to finally see The Road! Love those end-of-world type movies.

Leave a Reply

