AFI 100 Progress: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

“Kid, the next time I say, “Let’s go someplace like Bolivia,” let’s GO someplace like Bolivia.”

Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (George Roy Hill, 1969)

With Paul Newman, Robert Redford and Katharine Ross.

Paul Newman and Robert Redford are two of the biggest studs to ever exist, and they form the finest bromance in film history.  If modern on-screen couples had a tenth of the chemistry these two had, then today’s romantic comedies would be much more watchable.  I think of this movie as an all-male version of Bonnie and Clyde.

The first half of the movie, where Butch and Sundance try everything they can think of to shake the trackers, is so simple and effective.  It’s one of the most entertaining sequences I have ever seen.  That hour flew by faster than any part of any movie I can recall.  Things get a little less interesting when they move to Bolivia, but the final shootout more than makes up for it.  While I loved The Sting, I was shocked to find that I enjoyed this one even more.  I’m not usually a big western fan.

One last thing… Robert Redford is so hot I can hardly contain myself.  His hair is the greatest in film history.

Rating: 9/10

RIYL: The Sting, Bonnie and Clyde, Public Enemies.

Comments
2 Responses to “AFI 100 Progress: Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    hahhaha.. he is SO hot.. but hotter than Newman..I’ve always thought it was a toss up. I liken this choice between McConaughey and Pitt..obviously you know my choice. =]

  2. They are both gorgeous. Maybe I just think Redford was hotter in this because Newman was starting to show his age a little bit. He’s 10 or so years older than Redford.

Leave a Reply

