Tuesday DVD Rundown

It’s a busy week for home viewing.  Keep in mind as you sift through this week’s releases that I order my list as a top to bottom hierarchy of viewing importance.

Worth a rental:

I just reviewed the DVD for The Messenger yesterday.  It’s probably the best option for the week, especially if you are considering a purchase.  It’s got a really cool case with some great artwork.  Everyone knows that stuff is important.  Read my review if you want to know more about the movie.

Rating: 7/10

Somehow Invictus got lost in all the Blind Side hooplah last fall, but here is your second chance to check it out.  I saw it in theaters, but that was before I started this blog so I don’t have a review for you.  What I can say is that it was another Clint Eastwood exhibition in masterful storytelling.  It’s an all-around fascinating story that is exceptionally acted from Morgan Freeman and Matt Damon but I can’t recommend it as any more than a rental because I can’t see myself or anyone else returning to this time after time.  I do have a few gripes with the film, however.  I thought the rugby stadium, filled with CGI fans looked laughably fake and like something out of a video game.  The coliseum in Gladiator looked far more impressive, and that was almost ten years ago.  I also wasn’t too keen on Matt Damon’s prosthetic nose, but I’ve never deemed it completely necessary for an actor to look a lot like the real-life character he/she is portraying.

Rating: 7/10

Not worth your time:

I reviewed this hack job of a horror/thriller yesterday, so you should check that out.  If you  like watching bad movies, you’ll love watching this one.  That’s the best recommendation I can give you.

Rating: 3/10

Also available:

Valentine’s Day made an ass load of money on, well, Valentines Day weekend and has otherwise been forgotten.  Was it any good?  Or was all that money coming from a bunch of dudes trying really hard to get laid?  I realize that’s a generalization, but I’m sure its mostly the case.  With a runtime of 125 minutes and featuring 20 or so big-name stars, something about the phrase “epic romantic comedy” doesn’t quite resonate with me.

Extraordinary Measures looks like a Lifetime movie with a bigger budget.  My mom eats that shit up, but she wasn’t even glowing with praise for this one so I think I’ll pass.  You know how some mediocre comedies show all the good parts in the trailers?  I think that’s the case with this movie.  There is no way anything can top the “I ALREADY WORK AROUND THE CLOCK” outburst from the preview.  As Bogey says, “we’ll always have Paris.”  Or in this case, Youtube.

If there was only one thing in the world less attractive than watching an “epic romantic comedy,” it would be watching a movie with Jackie Chan.  I have never enjoyed one of his movies.  Never.  Jackie Chan and movies about horses… I’ll watch anything else.  If I had a list of things I wanted to do before I die, watching The Spy Next Door would be the very last item on the list.  Ranking just above it would be “going to an AC/DC concert” and “sticking my face in Big Show’s armpit.”



Comments
8 Responses to “Tuesday DVD Rundown”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    (a) matt damon looks unusually dreamy in that poster.. don’t know why I never noticed
    (b) I was at V-day..and I’m pretty sure I wasn’t try to lay anyone..seeing as I saw it alone =]
    (c) I still want to see Extraordinary Measures because I want to know what spurs that outburst of “I already work around the clock” and b/c I know Harrison would make me laugh…. whether he meant to or not.

  2. Simon/Ripley says:

    Ugh…Valentine’s Day…

  3. Marshall says:

    I’m liking the phrase “epic romantic comedy.” You should coin and trademark that.

  4. rtm says:

    I’ve just seen Invictus on the plane recently. I like it but yeah, I don’t think I’ll watch it again. I absolutely agree about the stadium thing, I’m still in awe with how well done the coliseum was in Gladiator even though a decade is a looong time in tech years.

    Don’t think I’ll ever see V-day, just watching the trailer gives me saccharine overload… and I’m a chick!

Leave a Reply

