AFI 100 Progress: Psycho

“She might have fooled me, but she didn’t fool my mother.”

Psycho (Alfred Hitchcock, 1960)

With Anthony Perkins, Vera Miles, John Gavin, Martin Balsam and Janet Leigh.

Mysterious, suspenseful and haunting.  Psycho is the epitome of terror.  I can’t believe it has taken me this long to see it.  I was absolutely amazed by it.  Everyone talks about the famous shower scene, but the thing I was most taken by was the way the movie completely shifted angles halfway through the film.  We go from following Marion as she tries to escape with her stolen money to focusing on Norman Bates as he tries to get away with her murder.  The only movie I can think of that did something similar was The Constant Gardener. I don’t think Anthony Perkins gets enough credit for his acting in this movie.  The way he displayed Bates’s nervous tics and obsessive-compulsive tendencies was just outstanding.  The use of music in this film did a really effective job of heightening the mood as well.  I rank this with Rear Window as Hitchcock’s finest work.

Rating: 10/10

RIYL: Sunset Boulevard, The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (original), The Night of the Hunter.

Comments
6 Responses to “AFI 100 Progress: Psycho”
  1. The suspense that Hitchcock builds in this film is great. The scene that has always stuck out for me is when Martin Balsam (the PI) is walking up the Bates’ stairway and the “mother” comes out and just starts slashing him and Balsam starts to falls down the stairs backward.

    This is a goodie.

  2. PS – the new header is fucking sexy.

  3. Cary Grant is pretty hot.

  4. Kaitlyn says:

    I can’t believe you hadn’t seen this movie..

    and yes, Cary Grant is very very very hot.. mmmm

  5. Peyton says:

    Kevin, I don’t know how long I’ve been telling you how good Psycho is. I’m glad you now know.

Leave a Reply

