AFI 100 Progress: City Lights

“Yes, I can see now.”

City Lights (Charlie Chaplin, 1931)

I’ve always admired Charlie Chaplin.  I love his ingenuity in setting up his gags and the way he executes them with his athleticism and impeccable timing.  This film, made as a silent after the rest of the industry already converted to sound, is widely considered to be his masterpiece.  It’s a romantic comedy, in a time when there presumably wasn’t one released every other week, about a poor little tramp trying to find enough money to cure his crush’s blindness and save her from eviction.  I didn’t think it was as funny as Modern Times and its famous ending didn’t pull on my heartstrings as much as the monologue in The Great Dictator.  Nonetheless, it’s a wonderful piece of work.  I dare anyone who doesn’t think they could enjoy a silent film to give any of Chaplin’s movies a shot.

Rating: 9/10

Comments
4 Responses to “AFI 100 Progress: City Lights”
  1. Please tell me you’ve seen “Chaplin”.

  2. Of course I have. I haven’t seen “Scene of a Woman,” but I’m willing to bet Pacino didn’t deserve that Oscar over RDJ.

    I honestly can’t think of another actor who could have played Chaplin in a biopic.

  3. Simon/Ripley says:

    Go Chaplin. Seriously, has a better comedian ever existed?

  4. Not for my money…

Leave a Reply

