Tuesday DVD Rundown

Anyone ever wonder how the studios decide when these DVD’s get released?  This week just seems like poor planning because we’re getting three stereotypical “guy” movies when we haven’t had anything of the sort in recent weeks.  Oh well, here we go…

Worth a purchase:

Daybreakers (Michael and Peter Spierig, 2010)

With Ethan Hawke, Willen Dafoe and Sam Neill.

This film didn’t get the audience it deserved in theaters, so do yourself a favor and buy or rent it sometime soon.  It’s just a kick-ass and original vampire movie, which is refreshing to see in this world of weak pseudo-vamps like that of the Twilight series.  Something I find really funny about it is the fact that Willem Dafoe managed to get a role in a vampire movie where he isn’t one of the vampires (well, sort of).  How does that happen?  Read my theatrical review if you aren’t yet sold on it.  If I didn’t work at a video store and had more money to buy movies, I would probably buy this one.  It looks like it has some cool extras as well.

Rating: 8/10

Worth a rental:

Edge of Darkness (Martin Campbell, 2010)

With Mel Gibson, Ray Winstone and Danny Huston.

This is an incredibly gripping revenge thriller, but it’s also instantly forgettable.  I saw it just a few short months ago and I can hardly recall the plot.  I just remember Mel kicking a lot of ass.  That’s the whole reason we’re watching the movie anyway, right?  Read my theatrical review if you are interested in more specifics.  Maybe I’ll read it for a refresher, too.

Rating: 7/10

Also available:

Legion (Scott Charles Stewart, 2010)

I haven’t seen this, but I’m strangely interested in it.  Maybe it’s because it looks just dumb enough to be enjoyable, but I’m having a hard time figuring out if it’s taking itself seriously or not.  Any devoted commenters who can advise me one way or the other?  On a side note, Paul Bettany’s abs on the cover look ridiculous and painted on.  Or maybe I’m just jealous?  Either way, he’s about 5 years too late for his 300 casting call.

Comments
One Response to “Tuesday DVD Rundown”
  1. CMrok93 says:

    Daybreakers is a surprisingly good film, though could have been a lot better. The crazy blood scene is what does the film in for me.

Leave a Reply

