My Criterion Collection

My buddy, Frank, tagged me in this a few days ago.  I’m just now getting around to it.  Sorry.

1.  How many Criterion Collection DVDs do you own and what are they?

I don’t own any… although I’m still in possession of Frank’s copy of Days of Heaven.  I don’t have a lot of money to throw around at DVDs, especially ones as expensive as the Criterions.

2.  Have you bought any Criterions without seeing them first?

No.  See #1.

3.  Name one film, just one that deserves to be a Criterion.

Broken Embraces. Or anything else by Almodovar.  I don’t think any of his films are on Criterion.

4.  Have you ever called a film that would eventually get a Criterion release?

Surprisingly, yes.  When I first saw Hunger, I thought it was very much Criterion bait.  It just seemed like the type of film they typically release.

5.  Have you ever wondered why a film was a part of the Criterion Collection?

Kind of.  I wonder why most of Wes Anderson’s movies are Criterion releases, but not The Fantastic Mr. Fox.  I think that’s his best movie.

6.  Do you visit their website a lot?

Not really, I visit it every one in a while to check up on the upcoming releases.

7.  Do you look forward to seeing the cover art for future releases?

It’s not something I keep track of, but I do enjoy most of their covers.  They are much more tasteful and classy-looking than typical DVD covers.  I feel like they do a better job of capturing the essence of the movie… much more-so than just a couple of floating heads of the movie’s stars.


Comments
3 Responses to “My Criterion Collection”
  1. Nice! You better get “The Thin Red Line” when Criterion releases it!

  2. moviegeek says:

    I’m a big fan of the Criterion Collection DVDs and BluRay.
    By the way “Still Walking” is coming out next month
    Did you see it? Here’s my review:
    http://wp.me/p19wJ2-a5

    PS: hope you’ll like my blog

  3. You keep track of it now. My obsession has grown to you, and I’m proud of that.

Leave a Reply

