Seven Movie Questions

Hey everyone, apologies for the lack of updates.  I’ve been working 25 hours this weekend and studying for my finals, so I’ve been neglecting my blog a little bit.  Thankfully, my buddy Castor tagged me in this, giving me a well-needed excuse to post something.

1.  What was your first movie-going experience?

The first movie I can remember seeing in theaters is The Lion King. I would have been seven, and I believe it was with my grandparents.  Thanks!  That is, if you ever get on here to read my blog.  Other than that, I’ve been told that I would watch The Wizard of Oz on repeat, all day… but only the black-and-white parts.  For some reason it fascinated me.

2.  How many DVDs do you own?

I’m just estimating because I’m not in my apartment right now, but I think I was around 100 at last count.  I know for sure that I haven’t bought a single DVD since I started my job at the video store in January.

3.  What is your guilty pleasure movie?

I’ve seen How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days more times than I care for anyone to know.  I was so disappointed when Fools Gold came out and absolutely sucked.  Then I watched How to Lose a Guy again and all those bad feelings went away.

4.  You’ve compiled a list of your top 100 movies.  Which films didn’t make the cut?

I haven’t made a list (the closest thing I have is a list of a top ten films from the 2000s), so I’m going to go completely random and say Titanic.  Why?  Because I refuse to get over the fact that it beat L.A. Confidential for best picture.  Plus, that leaves me one more spot to give to some obscure documentary or indie movie like say, Wendy and Lucy or The King of Kong.

5.  Which movie(s) do you compulsively watch over and over again?

For about five months, I was watching Hot Rod about three or four times a week.  I don’t care who you are, that shit’s funny.  I also tend to watch (500) Days of Summer a lot.  That dance number cheers me up no matter how shitty of a mood I’m in.

"You know, pools are perfect for holding water."

6.  Classic(s) you’re ashamed to admit you haven’t seen yet?

I’ve only made it through about an hour of Lawrence of Arabia.  That’s pretty shameful.  I’m actually missing a lot of epics (like Ben-Hur, The Ten Commandments, and Spartacus), but the bulk of my “list” would consist of classic Westerns.  Stagecoach is honestly the only John Wayne movie I’ve seen.

7.  What movie posters are hanging in your room?

I would love to have more, but my room right now is fairly small.  Plus, I frame all of mine and frames aren’t exactly cheap.

  • Gladiator
  • Inglourious Basterds
  • The Wrestler
  • Conan the Barbarian
  • Body of Lies (soon to be replaced with Brothers)

I don’t have time to go around and see who has and hasn’t done this yet, so I’m going to tag some people who have left me comments recently:


Comments
5 Responses to “Seven Movie Questions”
  1. Simon/Ripley says:

    Damn you, I was hoping to avoid this.

    Well, anyway, the dance sequence in 500 Days of Summer is kind of the best thing ever, so no shame in that.

  2. Castor says:

    It says something that just about everyone’s guilty pleasure is a romantic comedy 🙂 I agree that framing movie posters can get real expensive quickly, one of the main reason I stopped collecting for a while. Great 7 movie facts!

  3. CMrok93 says:

    Hey man thanks for the tag, especially since you and I have the same amount of dvds in our collection. Check out my list when you get the chance: http://dtmmr.wordpress.com/2010/05/02/seven-movie-questions/

  4. Thanks for linking me. Nice posters. Which Basterds one do you have?

Leave a Reply

