Tuesday DVD Rundown

Okay, so I’ve really got nothing new to offer you this week aside from a brief overview with corresponding links to movies I’ve already reviewed.  They can’t all be winners now, can they?  At least all three of these movies are pretty solid options.

Worth a rental:

It’s Complicated (Nancy Meyers, 2009)

With Meryl Streep, Steve Martin, Alec Baldwin and John Krasinski.

I don’t have much to add to my theatrical review, so just read that if you haven’t done so yet.  It’s just a really funny, sweet and thoroughly likable movie.  I don’t see how anyone couldn’t enjoy it.  It’s too bad I can’t say that for more romantic comedies.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: As Good as it Gets, Something’s Gotta Give, Rumor Has It.

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (Terry Gilliam, 2009)

With Heath Ledger, Christopher Plummer, Verne Troyer, Lily Cole, Johnny Depp, Jude Law and Colin Farrell.

If I had to recommend one movie for purchase this week, it would be this one.  There isn’t much I can say about it that I haven’t already said in my review that I posted just a few short days ago.  Read that.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: 8 1/2, Big Fish, Being John Malkovich (really anything from Charlie Kaufman).

Five Minutes of Heaven (Oliver Hirschbiegel, 2009)

With Liam Neeson and James Nesbitt.

Apparently when I posted my mini-review (get it here) for this one a few weeks ago, it was a Blockbuster exclusive.  Well, now it’s available everywhere else.  I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone in the mood for 85 minutes of unrelenting tension.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Munich, Hunger, Frost/Nixon.

Comments
3 Responses to “Tuesday DVD Rundown”
  1. Castor says:

    Some decent release this week. I haven’t seen any of those at this point. By the way, thanks for the blogroll add, i’ll do the same 😉

  2. Simon Ripley says:

    Imaginarium was kind of awesome. So, yay.

  3. Castor says:

    Hey chief, I tagged you for another one of those internet meme going around. Hope you get to it!

Leave a Reply

