Certified Classics: Close Encounters of the Third Kind

“I guess you’ve noticed something a little strange with Dad. It’s okay, though. I’m still Dad.”

Close Encounters of the Third Kind (Steven Spielberg, 1977)

With Richard Dreyfuss, Francois Truffaut, Teri Garr and Melinda Dillon.

I had never seen this movie until now and I’m glad I can finally say I have. The film somehow manages to meet the demands of its impossibly broad scope.  We’ve got everything from the massive world-wide paranoia and suspicion of a government cover-up all the way down to the intimate family relationships that are being effected by the apparent alien takeover. I’m not a huge fan of sci-fi or the grandiose of Spielberg, but everything comes together very nicely in Close Encounters. I feel like this is what every Roland Emmerich movie aspires to be.  Then again, Emmerich is not Steven Spielberg.  The suspense, the intrigue, the special effects and the uncharacteristically good acting… they still hold up after all these years.

Rating: 9/10

RIYL: Independence Day, Signs, Poltergeist.

Leave a Reply

