The Indies: Margot at the Wedding

“It’s hard, I think, to find people in the world you love more than your family.”

Margot at the Wedding (Noah Baumbach, 2007)

With Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Jack Black.

I hate Nicole Kidman.  I almost always hate Jack Black.  I like writer/director Noah Baumbach so much that I watched this movie anyway.  Some call him pretentious.  I call him refreshing.  He’s a genius when it comes to creating these overly awkward and unorthodox characters and pulling them together with these relationships that feel so real.  Kidman and Black are just as unlikable as always, but that’s a sign of perfect casting because that’s exactly how their characters are written.  I think that’s precisely Baumbach’s point here.  In our everyday lives, we are often forced to deal with people who are just miserable and impossible to get along with.  Each day is a struggle, but we still have to find a way to endure and co-exist.  Ugh, I’m starting to sound like Sartre now.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: Rachel Getting Married, Pieces of April, The Family Stone.

Leave a Reply

