Weekly DVD Rundown

Pretty short list this week, but there’s some quality there.

Worth a rental:

An Education (Lone Scherfig, 2009)

With Carey Mulligan, Peter Sarsgaard, Alfred Molina and many more.

This film earned itself a spot on my “best of ’09” list, so needless to say I enjoyed it.  I would go as far as saying that it is 3/4 of a masterpiece, with the final act being a little too conveniently accelerated for my taste.  Even still, Mulligan delivers what I consider to be one of the finest female performance of the year while Sarsgaard and Molina also turn in criminally overlooked supporting performances.  I can’t wait to watch this one again.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: Say Anything, Lolita, October Sky.

Sherlock Holmes (Guy Ritchie, 2009)

With Robert Downey Jr., Jude Law, Rachel McAdams and Mark Strong.

Read my theatrical review of the film here.  In short, it’s one of those movies that is fun as hell while you’re watching it, but is almost instantly forgettable.  I’m not too sure how excited I am to re-watch it, so I might just wait a year or two and give myself a refresher before the next installment in the franchise rolls around.

Quick note: This is coming out in one of those DVD/Blu-Ray combo packs.  I think I’m going to start buying those for when I make the commitment to step up to the Blu-Ray plate.  It’s has to happen eventually, right?  Yeah, it’s a good idea.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: Iron Man, Pirates of the Caribbean, Batman (1989).

Also available:

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakuel (Betty Thomas, 2009)

I haven’t seen this, but if I had kids I would have taken them to the theater for this in a heartbeat.  Believe me, this is going to be played non-stop during my shifts at the video store where I work as soon as it becomes available.  I don’t care how old you are, there aren’t a whole lot of things that are funnier than singing chipmunks.

Comments
2 Responses to “Weekly DVD Rundown”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    I am never watching that f’n movie.. NEVER…

  2. Castor says:

    I rewatched Sherlock Holmes recently and surprisingly, I enjoyed it more the 2nd time I saw it. (I gave it a B+ on Christmas Day so I did like it the first time)

Leave a Reply

