Hidden Gems: After Hours

After Hours (Martin Scorsese, 1985)

With Griffin Dunne, Rosanna Arquette, Linda Florentino and Catherine O’Hara.

As I try to make my way through some of the deeper cuts of Scorsese’s oeuvre, I finally got my hands on a copy of After Hours (thanks Frank).  Griffin Dunne stars as Paul, our guide through the irreverence of late-night New York and all the colorful personalities that come along with it.  It’s a good performance, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t often distracted by his unibrow.  I still like The King of Comedy more as far as Scorsese’s “comedies” go, but this is a fun flick nonetheless.

While its soundtrack sounds like something out of a John Carpenter movie, the look of the film is vintage Scorsese.  He beautifully captures the rainy streets of New York City and brings them to life, just as he has in more serious movies like Taxi Driver and Mean Streets.  After Hours is full of engaging conversations, and I can’t help but think that the movie is somewhat of a precursor to the style of films that Tarantino would later became famous for.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: American Psycho, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, A Scanner Darkly.

Comments
One Response to “Hidden Gems: After Hours”
  1. I’m glad you liked it. I’m interested to see your thoughts on “All That Jazz”.

Leave a Reply

