This Week’s DVD Releases: What are they worth?

Worth a Rental:

Precious (Lee Daniels, 2009)

With Gabourey Sidibe, Mo’Nique, Paula Patton, Mariah Carey and Lenny Kravitz.

This is going to be a hot title this week, especially since it is fresh off two well-deserved Oscar wins for supporting actress (Mo’Nique) and adapted screenplay.  I loved the movie when I saw it in theaters, but I have no desire to watch it again.  It is, quite simply, one of the toughest movie-watching experiences I’ve ever had and I don’t really feel like putting myself through that again.  It is well worth your time if you are interested in an emotional movie-watching experience, but just make sure you know what you’re getting yourself into.

Rating: 8/10

RIYL: The Wrestler, The Woodsman, Hunger.

Up in the Air (Jason Reitman, 2009)

With George Clooney, Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick.

I actually enjoyed this movie more the second time around when I rewatched it over the weekend, but my general opinion of it remains the same: It is a good movie, not a great one.  I was underwhelmed by its ending and its overall emotional impact, especially considering its subject matter.  If you want to know more, read my review.  The DVD has some really cool deleted scenes, so if you loved the movie it might be worth buying.

Rating: 7/10

RIYL: The Weather Man, Lost in Translation.

Capitalism: A Love Story: Haven’t seen it, but it carries a 75% Rotten Tomatoes rating.  Michael Moore is pretty interesting, as far as arrogant assholes go… I’m sure I’ll get around to seeing this at some point.

Boondock Saints II: I have heard nothing good about this one, but I’m sure a lot of you are fans of the original that will see this regardless.  I might check it out some time when I’m in the mood for a brainless endeavor.  Sequels tend to suck, though… especially when they come from a one-hit-wonder director like Troy Duffy.

Not Worth Your Time:

Old Dogs (Walt Becker, 2009)

With John Travolta, Robin Williams and Seth Green.

I haven’t seen this.  Hopefully I never will.  Quite frankly, there isn’t a single movie I want to see LESS than Old Dogs. It looks like an atrocious 88 minute compilation of failed attempts at humor.  Plus, it has Seth Green in it.  His very presence pisses me off, and I can’t think of a single time that he has ever made me laugh.

Oh, and we’ve also got Planet 51. It is the latest cash grab from The Artist Formerly Known as “The Rock,” in which he stars as some sort of animated space man.  I think I’ll pass.  Please, Rocky, no more kids movies.

Comments
One Response to “This Week’s DVD Releases: What are they worth?”
  1. Alex says:

    RDJ as next year’s host=Gold

    Old Dogs is hilariously bad. It is totally entertaining, just not in the way the director had in mind. Its the perfect movie to light up a J and prepare to be entertained by pure monumental failure. I promise, it will make you laugh.

Leave a Reply

