Random Oscar Thoughts

Here is a completely misquided collection of things that went through my mind last night while watching the Oscars.

  • Where the hell was Farrah Fawcett during that memorial segment?  I guess she didn’t make the cut.  How the fuck are Michael Jackson and Brittany Murphy more deserving of making it?  Apparently dying of a drug overdose is more honorable than being a cancer victim.  Noted.
  • Zac Efron is infinitely cooler than Taylor Lautner.  I bet you he has a longer, more successful career.  Call it a hunch…
  • Robert Downey Jr. is the coolest man in the world.  ‘Nuff said.
  • I’m extremely happy for everyone involved with The Hurt Locker. Six well-deserved wins in my book.
  • The biggest surprise of the night was the adapted screenplay for Precious beating out Up in the Air, not that I mind the decision.  I really thought Up in the Air had that one in the bag.
  • Colin Farrell was hilarious, Ben Stiller was not.
  • Neil Patrick Harris: “The biggest pair since Dolly Parton” = line of the night.
  • Baldwin and Martin are good actors, boring Oscar hosts.
  • Definition of cinematography: The art or technique of movie photography. I don’t see anything about CGI in there, so how the fuck did Avatar win that award?  Once again, this might be me just being too much of a purist.
  • Bullock and Bridges both had great acceptance speeches.
  • The more the night went on, the more I found myself cheering for Gabourey Sidibe… although I am still happy for Sandra Bullock.
  • 3D is a stupid gimmick.  I hope the trend ends soon.  Sorry, I know that is completely unrelated.
  • What’s the point in having Barbra Streisand present the “Best Director” trophy?  They could have had some prominent male director present it to make it a little less… um… obvious.
  • Sarah Jessica Parker is fugly.  Why did they keep showing her on the red carpet pre-show?  You might as well flash a banner that says “CHANGE CHANNEL NOW!”  Wow, I feel sorry for Matthew Broderick.
  • I didn’t think I would like the decision to rid the show of the “original song” performances, but that “original score” dance thingy was pretty neat.

That’s about all I have for now.  For next year I want to see:

  • Long-deserved “Best Director” win for either Ridley Scott (Robin Hood) or Terrence Malick (Tree of Life).
  • “Best Supporting Actor” win for either Mickey Rourke (Iron Man 2) or Brad Pitt (Tree of Life).
  • Go back to five “Best Picture” nominees.  10 is just too much, and made the show far too long.
  • Robert Downey Jr. as host.
Leave a Reply

