Quick Thoughts: Bulworth

Bulworth (Warren Beatty, 1998)

With Warren Beatty, Halle Berry, Don Cheadle and Oliver Platt.

I watched this as part of my recent ongoing Beatty kick, and this is probably the worst of his films that I have seen.  That’s really saying something for my level of respect for Beatty, though, because I actually still enjoyed it on many levels.  Bulworth is a political satire about a California Senator who has had enough of the sugar-coating and fabricating that is customary in politics, and has hired a hitman to kill him.  After making the hire, Senator Bulworth loosens up and starts telling it like it is.  He also starts rapping at his speaking engagements after he meets Halle Berry and her group of friends.  I really commend Beatty for diving headlong into a role like this, even though the result was a mixed bag of hilarity and awkwardness.  The story had its moments, but it really didn’t come together at the end and deliver on its promising premise.  As much as I enjoy Warren Beatty, I never want to see him rapping again.

Rating: 6/10

RIYL: Black Sheep, Network, Charlie Wilson’s War.

Leave a Reply

