Best of the Decade: A Summary

I’m just going to use this post to summarize my list, but first I’m going to name some movies that just missed making my top ten.  The list was a lot of fun to make, and it was extremely difficult to narrow down all of the great movies made over the past ten years to just my ten favorites.

Movies that just missed the top ten:

The Incredibles, City of God, Control, There Will Be Blood, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang and Inglourious Basterds.

Now, a simple summary for my top ten (for easy reference):

1.  Zodiac (David Fincher, 2007)

2.  Almost Famous (Cameron Crowe, 2000)

3.  The Wrestler (Darren Aronofsky, 2008)

4.  No Country for Old Men (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, 2007)

5.  Gladiator (Ridley Scott, 2000)

6.  You Can Count on Me (Kenneth Lonergan, 2000)

7.  Big Fish (Tim Burton, 2003)

8.  Match Point (Woody Allen, 2005)

9.  The Squid and the Whale (Noah Baumbach, 2005)

10.  Collateral (Michael Mann, 2004)

What is your favorite movie of the decade?  Leave your lists in the comments.

Comments
4 Responses to “Best of the Decade: A Summary”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    To simplify things for myself I am going to pick 1 movie from each year:

    2000–>Erin Brockovich

    This film has one of my favorite lines ever “That’s all you got, lady. Two wrong feet in fucking ugly shoes.”

    (Close behind: Wonder Boys, Traffic, and High Fidelity)

    2001–>Life as a House

    This film is probably my favorite of the decade. Kevin Kline is fucking fantastic in everything he does, and this is certainly no exception. Every time I see this film I am just so affected its unbelievable.

    (Close behind: A Beautiful Mind, Bridget Jones Diary, Moulin Rouge)

    2002–> The Good Girl

    I will admit I’m heavily biased towards Jennifer Aniston–I think the sun shines out of her bum–but she undeniably fantastic in this film. She is just so raw in this performance. The story is just so tragic, but so painfully true for some people. John C. Reily and Jake Gyllenhaal are also extraordinary in this movie.

    (Close Behind: Changing Lanes, Chicago, and High Crimes)

    2003–>Something’s Gotta Give

    Diane Keaton and Jack Nicholson are easily two of my favorite actors of all time. In this movie they are just too hysterical and charming. Diane Keaton really stole my heart as the vulnerable, but confident Erica Barry.

    (Close Behind: Finding Nemo, Love Actually, Mystic River)

    2004–> Garden State

    Can’t really go wrong here. Fantastic acting, dialogue, and music. Aesthetically gorgeous. Wonderful from beginning to end.

    (Close Behind: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Wicker Park, Phantom of the Opera)

    2005–> The Family Stone

    I can’t explain why I love this movie. But I do. The ensemble cast works effortlessly, and the tension building throughout the film really just made me feel a part of the family and their issues. The scene at the dinner table, albeit paralyzingly uncomfortable, is by far one of my favorite I’ve ever seen.

    (Close Behind: Wedding Crashers, Crash, Cinderella Man)

    2006–>The Break-Up

    I will probably get made fun of for this one….but in my defense I don’t care. The first time I saw this movie I despised it. Like deep, burning, firey hate…but then after a year (and a pretty heavy personal break-up) I revisited the film and found its heart wrenching truth. I’m probably alone here, but I find this movie to be a great portrayal of relationships and their inevitable demise.

    (Close Behind–>The Departed, The Guardian, Little Miss Sunshine. Letters from Iwo Jima, Lucky Number Slevin)

    2007–> Evening

    I only saw this movie once, so i can’t speak to the intricacies of the plot or my favorite scenes, but I remember this movie with a fond affection. A phenomenal younger cast of Claire Danes, Hugh Dancy, and Patrick Wilson, and a even more impressive older cast of Vanessa Redgrave, Meryl Streep, Glenn Close, the late Natasha Richardson, and Toni Collette. I so loved this movie.

    (Close Behind: Across the Universe, Into the Wild, Juno)

    2008–>Juno

    Perhaps a conventional pick, but I love this movie. Fantastic cast (obviously), witty dialogue, a new female actress to idolize (Page). But the reason I love this movie is the way it doesn’t belittle the behaviors, decisions, and problems of adolescents. A lot of movies will focus on how the problems in high school don’t matter later in life….well that may be true for some people, but they sure as shit matter while they are happening, and they should be treated with a certain amount of sensitivity. This movie does just that. My favorite part of this film is the relationship between Juno and her father. Every scene with them is just perfection.

    (Close Behind: Iron Man, Baby Mama, Defiance, Ghost Town, Australia, Burn After Reading)

    2009–>Away We Go

    I have such a hard on for John Krasinski (and Sam Mendes directorial chops) so maybe that swayed my decision here, but regardless I am madly in love with this movie. It’s gorgeously shot and acted. What I find most engaging about this film is the relationship between the two main characters (Krasinski and Rudolph). They are just these two misfits that are unapologetically unconventional and its just freaking beautiful to me.

    (Close Behind: Inglorious Basterds, Watchmen, (500) Days of Summer, and Brothers)

  2. Kaitlyn says:

    ok..so apparently Juno was in 2007.. haha took me awhile to make this so i got a little delusional..my apologies..

  3. Kaitlyn says:

    I forgot about The Last Kiss in 06…

  4. Peyton says:

    Your guys’ hard on for Brothers is a little much for me.

Leave a Reply

