2009: The Year in Review

It has been a great year at the movies.  For the first time ever, the yearly domestic box-office reached $10 million.  This number represents a 9% rise in ticket sales over last year’s total.  With the economy making an impact on the spending habits of so many people, it seems that many Americans are opting to make an escape at the movies rather than spending more money on a luxurious vacation getaway.

Like any year, we had our fair share of blockbusters, flops and surprises.  Transformers 2 ($402 million) and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince ($301 million) lead the way as the only movies to pass the $300 million mark.  Movies like Land of the Lost and Angels and Demons failed to perform up to expectations, and could easily be considered flops.

Then, there were plenty of movies like The Blind Side, Taken, The Hangover and The Proposal that exceeded expectations and delivered massive box-office returns on budgets that were only a fraction of the typical blockbuster.  For comparison’s sake, Transformers 2 had a production budget of around $200 million, so domestically it made roughly twice its budget.  The Hangover made over $277 million on a production budget of only $35 million.  That’s a healthy domestic return of almost 8x its production budget.

I’ve had enough number crunching.  Now I’m going to get to what I consider to be the best (and worst) in the year that was.

Top 10 movies of the year:

  1. Brothers
  2. Inglourious Basterds
  3. (500) Days of Summer
  4. A Single Man
  5. Avatar
  6. Moon
  7. The Hurt Locker
  8. An Education
  9. Watchmen
  10. Precious

Honorable mentions go to Whip it! and Drag me to Hell.

Other Notables:

Best Animated Feature: "Up"

Best Documentary: "The Cove"

Acting Awards:

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Colin Firth for "A Single Man"

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Carey Mulligan for "An Education"

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz for "Inglourious Basterds"

Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique for "Precious"

The Bad:

Worst Movie I Actually Saw: "Land of the Lost"

Most Disappointing: "Where the Wild Things Are"


Share your thoughts in the comments.

Note:  All statistics are from http://boxofficemojo.com/

Comments
14 Responses to “2009: The Year in Review”
  1. Kaitlyn says:

    Love it!! and surprisingly enough I agree with you on most of them..

  2. Dave says:

    I definitely agree with best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz for “Inglourious Basterds.” He was my favorite character in the film, and was what really made me love that movie so much. Sorry Brad, it’s the truth.

  3. Peyton says:

    1) Avatar
    2) A Single Man
    3) Up in the Air
    4) Inglourious Basterds
    5) (500) Days of Summer
    6) Watchmen
    7) Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call New Orleans
    8) Up
    9) District 9
    10) The Road

    Honorable Mention: Antichrist, Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Hangover, Star Trek

  4. Peyton says:

    They just had to change my 8 to a sunglasses smiley.

    • Kevin Blumeyer says:

      Well, maybe I think your hard on for “Up in the Air” is a bit too much. I ❤ Brothers.

      Either way, everyone knows that the sunglasses smiley face is the coolest.

  5. Kaitlyn says:

    1. Away We Go
    2. (500) Days of Summer
    3. Inglorious Basterds
    4. Brothers
    5. Watchmen
    6. The Cove
    7. The Hangover
    8. Moon
    9. Invictus
    10. Precious

  6. Peyton says:

    I didn’t have it at number 1. That’s just irresponsible. Also, honorable mentioning The Hurt Locker now, because it’s probably number 11, maybe 12.

  7. Hurt Locker is not an honorable mention for me buuuuuut. I will be viewing Moon this weekend, as well as Brothers and An Education. 🙂 Much love from Pompous Film Snob.

  8. AJ SEMZ says:

    So I missed a good number of the flicks that a lot of people are deeming top 10 worthy. Ill be catching up on them slowly but surely over the next month or so.

    It hurts me so badly that so many people were disappointed with WTWTA. I think its the psych student in me that loves it so much, but I thought what Jonze did with it was really remarkable.

  9. I just watched “An Education”, and I’m sorry to say that I wasn’t impressed with it in the least. I was bored with it, and it felt really stretched out. My favorite part was that of the actress that played the mother play “Kristi” in American Psycho. I can see why Streep is going to win since this category is pretty week this year. You know if Sandra Bullock is going to get nominated…something is wrong with female leads this year.

  10. Kevin Blumeyer says:

    I thought “An Education” was really good, but not great. It kept me interested throughout, and the final third actually seemed a bit rushed to me. Sarsgaard, Molina and Mulligan were all great. Mulligan’s performance is definitely my favorite female lead performance this year, followed closely by Natalie Portman in “Brothers.”

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] February 3, 2010 · Leave a Comment Each year, everyone has their complaints about the Oscar nominations.  The Academy thought they would quiet the rumblings by expanding the “Best Picture” category to ten nominees, but it really hasn’t helped much since the biggest shock (and backlash) has come with the nomination of The Blind Side for the award.  I looked elsewhere for my gripes, and I’ve come up with a list of my seven biggest snubs among this year’s Oscar nominees.  Keep in mind that I’m not going to comment on the “Best Picture” other than stating my opinion that 10 nominees is just too much, especially when only two or three of them have a legitimate shot anyway.  Therefore, I’m only going to focus on the subsidiary categories.  My 10 “best pictures” of they year can be found here. […]

  2. […] 10, 2010 · Leave a Comment I was pretty bummed when two of my favorite films of 2009, Brothers and (500) Days of Summer, were completely ignored when Oscar nominations […]

  3. […] suspenseful, tragic and haunting – everything a good noir should be.  If I were to rework my best of ‘09 list today, this might top the list.  I don’t care if you don’t like reading […]



Leave a Reply

