A Christmas Day Dilemma

It has become somewhat of a tradition in my family to go see a movie on Christmas Day.  The choice is usually easy, as we typically end up seeing whatever movie Will Smith has in theaters at the time (past movies seen on Christmas Day include Ali, The Pursuit of Happiness, and Seven Pounds).  Seeing as how “Big Willie” doesn’t have any movies out this season, the decision has become a bit more difficult.  The winter holiday season has become a rival to the summer movie season when it comes to releasing the big blockbuster movies, and this year is no exception as there is a bevy of new movies to choose from.  However, it is pretty difficult to pick a movie that the whole family will enjoy.  Being the family movie enthusiast, I am left in charge of picking which movie we will go to see on Christmas Day.  It is a big responsibility, but it is really the only thing I have to offer my family.  All joking aside, I take it somewhat seriously as it is a chance to share something I love (movies) with the people I love the most.  Here are the options:

Alvin and the Chipmunks:  The Squeakuel: There is really nothing funnier than computer animated rodents singing popular songs.  I honestly couldn’t stop laughing when I saw the trailer and the group of female chipmunks started singing Beyonce’s “Single Ladies.”  As funny as it might be, I don’t think it is the right choice for a family whose youngest member is a recent college graduate.  I’m sure it will make a ton of money this weekend, as it really is the only choice when it comes to movies for parents with younger children.  If  only I had a younger sibling, I wouldn’t have to feel so bad about wanting to see a movie like this.  I’ve got to give them credit for the creation of the word “squeakuel,” though.

Sherlock Holmes: I’m a huge fan of Robert Downey, Jr. and this movie looks really entertaining and has fared pretty well with the critics so far (currently at 66% on Rotten Tomatoes).  I’m really excited for it, and think that most of my family would like it.  However, my mom really doesn’t enjoy action movies of any type so even though any woman would enjoy looking at RDJ or Jude Law for two hours, this doesn’t really seem to be an option.  I’m going to have to wait to see this at my own convenience.

Nine: I’m not a huge fan of musicals, but I can make an exception for one based on Fellini’s 1963 classic film 8 1/2. The early reviews have been somewhat disappointing, but I am still interested enough to see it at some point.  My dad should be able to handle it based on the slew of sexy females that will grace the screen and my mother typically likes musicals.  The problem here lies with my brother.  This is just not his type of film.  Next option…

It’s Complicated: This movie is a rarity in the current state of cinema:  a romantic comedy targeted towards adults.  we haven’t really seen a movie like this since the Jack Nicholson duo of Something’s Gotta Give and As Good as it Gets.  I happen to think it looks absolutely hilarious, and Streep is fabulous in anything she does.  Luckily, I get to see this with my girlfriend’s family so I don’t have to worry about talking my dad and brother into seeing this one.  This leaves only one movie remaining:

Up in the Air: This movie is really the perfect choice for a Christmas Day family movie.  George Clooney has the commanding screen presence and sex appeal to interest my mom, and the combination of drama and comedy should be enough to keep the rest of the family interested.  Plus, I get an excuse to get my parents interested in the Oscar race since this is currently one of the frontrunners.  It is finally expanding into wide release this weekend after being in selected theaters over the past couple weeks.

Is it a bad thing that my favorite thing about Christmas is the rare opportunity to go to the movies with my entire family?

Comments
7 Responses to “A Christmas Day Dilemma”
  1. Eric Rico says:

    Dudeski, I think you should see “Up in the Air.”
    I’m digging your page so far!

  2. Kevin Blumeyer says:

    Thanks, buddy. And yes, we have decided on “Up in the Air.”

  3. Peyton Sloat says:

    You would think about actually seeing the Chipmunks sequel. Notice how I didn’t use the word “squeak” in my pronunciation?

  4. Dave says:

    Kev would laugh at those annoying commercials for that squeak– mean sequel.

  5. GF's sis says:

    Kevin… thankfully my daughter is 8.5yo so I had a great excuse to see The Chipmucks movie… and I thought it was cute… good music (even though it was 2 octaves higher) with great harmony and a wonderful storyline for kids and adults alike. Funny “one-liners” too… my fav – Alvin’s “I don’t mean to tute my own horn but ‘beep beep bebebebeep'” LOL!

  6. GF's sis says:

    ((Disregard

  7. GF's sis says:

    Damn touch screen phones.. I meant to say ((Disregard my typos)) lol

Leave a Reply

